Your Inner Fish is described as "a compelling scientific adventure story".  What is your idea of a scientific adventure?
Chris hirsch
10/3/2013 09:42:03 pm

Yo

Reply
Phillip Smith
10/3/2013 09:57:32 pm

When I think of the term " scientific adventure story" I am compelled to think of a more fictional account rather than factual.

Reply
Cindy QB
10/4/2013 12:07:27 am

I agree...like science fiction! To me, science adventure means going someplace, near or far, and making observations about the natural world. I walk on the beach a lot...and it can be very adventurous...one time many years ago I found a forked horseshoe crab tail...that led to many questions and some research to find out if the "fork" was caused by an injury or a mutation. The word adventure, when used with the word science, suggests excitement and wonder.

Reply
Kaitlyn
10/3/2013 09:57:52 pm

Reply
Kaitlyn
10/3/2013 10:00:14 pm

-____-

Reply
Christopher Hirsch
10/3/2013 09:57:54 pm

My ideal scientific adventure would be to go a national park and camp. Being able to study wildlife while among them would be awesome.

Reply
Cindy QB
10/3/2013 11:45:46 pm

I agree that going to National Parks would be adventurous-especially exploring a habitat or environment that was unfamiliar. I have explored Arcadia NP on the coast of Maine-the creatures in the tide pools were amazing-sea urchins and sea stars!

Reply
Haley M
10/3/2013 09:59:21 pm

Learning something new.

Reply
Raven
10/3/2013 10:00:06 pm

I like to read and I'm a science nerd, so I look forward to reading the book

Reply
Jenny
10/3/2013 10:06:31 pm

My idea of a scientific adventure would be exploring the outdoors and seeing nature.

Reply
Allie
10/6/2013 06:08:49 am

When I think of a "scientific adventure", I think of the magic school bus.

Reply
McGee
10/7/2013 09:23:24 am

Haha. I grew up with a few of those books. The story I most vividly remember was when they went inside a kid named Ralph to observe food digestion.

Reply
Justin L
10/6/2013 09:21:23 am

My idea of a scientific adventure would be exploring and studying a natural cave.

Reply
Amanda Bennett
10/7/2013 07:37:34 am

When i think of a "scientific adventure" i think of an adventure where you make discoveries and learn cool stuff!

Reply
Irvin R.
10/7/2013 07:58:08 am

Well, when I think of a compelling scientific adventure story, the first thing that comes to mind is hitchhiking around forested, mountainous terrains, acknowledging the beauty of what nature has to offer from such a view, and discovering new things. With that said... I kinda miss Texas, actually.

Reply
McGee
10/7/2013 09:42:12 am

I think of something unplanned. Maybe accidental. Adventures have inherit spontaneity, and great discoveries can come when least expected. I immediately think of Darwin. His primary role on the Beagle was to keep the captain company since the captain couldn't be seen socializing with his subordinate crew members. Darwin didn't set sail looking to discover anything. In fact, he had terrible sea sickness.
The other piece of his adventure that I would want in my adventure is the way it unfolded. He slowly gathered fossils and observations over a few years, traveling and ruminating about his observations, not knowing his observations would soon become evidence. There wasn't an abrupt discovery, or a giant "Eureka!" His scientific adventure took his mind and body to new places over a long period of time.

Reply
Erich Bratke
10/7/2013 09:47:44 am

A scientific adventure for me would be having a trip planned but during the trip doing or going somewhere you werent expecting and getting to experience something you didnt plan on at the start.

Reply
Jackie Pieper
10/7/2013 09:22:08 pm

It reminds me of a new discovery one makes

Reply
Addy Hockman
11/24/2013 08:01:24 pm

When I think of a scientific adventure, I think of a person who suspects a new discovery, and uses intelect to fully uncover it. Kind of like when you think you see something in the sand, but you can't uite tell what it is because it is quite hidden. In order to prove it is actually there, one must work to uncover it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.